Ranking the Greatest Male and Female Pre-Fresh Meat Challengers

Michael Alvey
22 min readSep 22, 2022

After completing the latest updates on my male and female all-time challenger rankings, I got to thinking — if I were doing the list before Fresh Meat, what would my rankings be?

Even though I didn’t watch those “Golden Era” seasons live, the nostalgia factor is still there in a massive way. I love the characters from the pre-Fresh Meat era more than any other era. It’s no surprise that of the 36 challengers in my Hall of Fame, 21 debuted before Fresh Meat.

I was thinking about writing on who were the biggest characters of the Golden Era, but that’s much more subjective.

But just for fun, my quick top 10 for girls would be: 1) Coral, 2) Tonya, 3) Veronica, 4) Beth, 5) Julie, 6) Katie, 7) Rachel, 8) Ruthie, 9) Emily Bailey, and 10) Tina.

For the guys, I’d go something like 1) The Miz, 2) Theo Von, 3) Timmy, 4) Abe, 5) Mark, 6) Eric Nies, 7) Derrick K, 8) Alton 9) Syrus, and 10) David Burns.

Women ruled the show character-wise in the early days, but (as has been the case for…

--

--